Today is the last day of the Wild Roses Christmas blog tour and I am so excited to have Rachel with me today, because she is one of the few Wild Rose authors I have actually met in person, at the RNA conference earlier this year. Rachel is a prolific writer, who has released two books through The Wild Rose Press this year, as well as writing under another name. To find out more about her, you can visit her blog or her website.

Today’s theme is our favourite Christmas traditions. You can find out all about mine at Amy Corwin’s blog. Without further ado, here is Rachel to tell us about hers …

* * *

What is your favorite holiday tradition?

Of all the topics my fellow Wild Rose Press authors and I have covered over the past four weeks, this is the question that stumped me the most! My favorite tradition? How can I pick one? Isn’t there so much to love about Christmas?

There is so much about Christmas I enjoy – buying the tree, decorating the tree, wrapping presents, buying presents, opening presents, Christmas dinner with all the trimmings, mulled wine, carol services in the local church, outdoor ice-skating at the mall…the list goes on!

But the more I thought about it, the more my favorite tradition became clear – it only recently became a tradition, in fact. It is very simple, very easy for anyone to achieve and most of all, it encapsulates what for me, Christmas is all about – Friends & neighbors (and of course, family but they aren’t actually included in this particular tradition!).

For the last five years our lovely and very special next-door neighbors have opened their house to my family and two other families for food, drink, games & general mayhem on Christmas Eve. I love this night! This is when the enjoyment of Christmas officially starts for me.

Once me, my husband and two young daughters leave our house, armed with an offering of a pressie and a bottle of something and head next door, I know that everything that needs to be done for Christmas is either done or it’s too late for it to be done! In other words, what if I’ve forgotten anything, it’s too bad – all I need to do now is enjoy myself, hooray!!

The lovely Prince and Paula always provide a beautiful spread of delicious food, endless amounts of wine and champagne and most of all lots and lots and fun and laughter. The game of guessing which celebrity was written on the paper stuck to our heads last year proved particular entertaining, LOL!

I love it and can’t wait for Christmas Eve this year once again. Merry, Merry Christmas! Here’s to my fabulous neighbors!

And please pop along to Rachel’s blog and find out about Sally Clements’ favorite Christmas tradition.

* * *

As part of the blog tour, Rachel is running a contest to give away a blue pashmina bought in the city of Bath, the setting for her historical novel, The Arrival of Lily Curtis. Head on over to her blog to enter.

Blurb

At the mention of an arranged marriage, Elizabeth Caughley feels her life is over at the age of three and twenty…so she hatches an escape plan. She will reinvent herself as a housemaid. Overnight, Elizabeth becomes Lily – on the understanding if her attempt at independence fails, she will return home and marry a man of her parents’ choosing.

Viscount Westrop will ensure his legacy is passed to his own son one day. Even though he feels insurmountable pity for the unborn child already, he knows how much pain a broken promise can cause and will do what is right. But with the arrival of his new housemaid, his plans are thrown into disarray. Lily is funny and feisty and the most beautiful creature on earth – Andrew is thunderstruck. But if anyone suspects how much he wants to ravish her and endlessly love her, Andrew’s lineage will undoubtedly be in peril.

Rachel also has a novella out with The Wild Rose Press, entitled Transatlantic Loving, which is part of TWRP’s Class of 85 series.

* * *

This is your last chance to enter my contest to win those fabulous traditional Christmas decorations from The Rainforest Site. To enter, all you need to do is become a subscriber to this blog, like my Facebook fan page, or re-tweet this post. Entries will close at midnight on the night of Friday 17th December.

