I’ve had a tremendously long day at the day job today, so preparing this post has been my first truly enjoyable moment of the day. I hope that my readers have as much fun as I’ve had reading the post prepared by today’s blog tour guest, Lilly Gayle.

* * *

Favorite Christmas Book, Story or Movie

When I was little, my mom always read the Christmas story from the bible on Christmas Eve and my dad read A Visit From St. Nicholas, attributed to Clement Clarke Moore, also known as The Night Before Christmas. My family continued the tradition after my sister and I had children…with one distinct exception…my dad became a comedian.

When my siblings and I were young, he’d read the story as it was written, but once he became a grandfather, my dad decided the story needed a new twist. So, he’d change the words in the most outrageous ways, just to watch the children laugh.

One line of the original story is:

And laying his finger aside of his nose,

And giving a nod, up the chimney he rose.

But my dad thought that was boring. And he was sick of reading the same story the same way after so many years. So…he altered it to:

And laying a finger aside of his nose,

He blew out snot all over his toes.

Yeah. Gross I know, but kids love this stuff. And my dad had them rolling.

So, I guess those are my usual favorites at Christmas. These days, it’s my nephews who sit giggling and anxious waiting to see what gross twists my dad puts on the story.

I also like to read a Christmas themed romance during the holidays if I get a chance. I know I read one last year, but for the life of me, I can’t remember what it was or who wrote it. But during the holidays, I often watch more movies than normal.

I love the Christmas movies shown on the Hallmark Channel and Lifetime Movie Network. One of my all time favorites is Borrowed Hearts starring Roma Downey. It’s a classic Christmas Romance worth seeing again and again. I highly recommend it.

Plot Summery: Borrowed Hearts (1997)

Kathleen’s a hard-working single mother, who’s saving to buy a house for herself and her daughter, Zoe. Sam’s a businessman who has to pretend he has a family in order to close a deal with the mysterious Javier Del Campo. Sam owns the company that Kathleen works for, and as her boss, manages to convince her to help him out. But Del Campo is more than he seems, and it just might be Zoe who’s making the real deal to get a new home for herself, her mother, and Sam.

* * *

You can find out more about Lilly at her blog: http://lillygayleromance.blogspot.com.

Her latest release is Out of the Darkness, available from The Wild Rose Press, from Amazon, and on Kindle.

Book blurb

Her research could cure his dark hunger if a covert government agent doesn’t get to her first.

Vincent Maxwell is a vampire with a conscience searching for a cure to his dark hunger. But when a scientist looking to create vampire soldiers captures and kills a fellow vampire, Vincent seeks out Dr. Megan Harper. While researching xeroderm pigmentosum, a light sensitivity disorder, Dr.Harper discovered a link to vampirism and she could hold a key to a cure and the answers to Gerard’s death. But getting close to the beautiful scientist could endanger both their lives.

When researcher Dr. Megan Harper meets Vincent Maxwell, she believes he suffers from xeroderma pigmentosum, the genetic disease that killed her sister. Sensing a deep loneliness within the handsome man, Megan offers friendship and access to her research files hoping he will offer her a position in his company. But they soon become more than friends and Megan learns the horrifying truth. She’s entered the dark and unseen world of vampires and Vincent is her only hope of survival.

* * *

Please visit me at Caroline Clemmons’ blog, where I’m sharing my favourite Christmas movie.

I’m also running a contest on this blog. There are two sets of traditional Christmas tree ornaments up for grabs. All you need to do to enter is follow/subscribe to this blog, like my Facebook page, or re-tweet this post. Each like, follow or tweet counts as a new entry. And don’t forget to leave a comment or email me letting me know what you’ve done, so I know to enter your name in the contest!

