I’m holding in my hands my first ever galley. This is the first version of my novel that looks anything like a real book, so this is definitely a champagne moment for me. Though as I need my wits about me to read and check every line, it’ll have to be virtual champagne. Please feel free to join me in a glass.

The 1920s were the heydey of the cocktail. Though they’d been around at least a century, cocktails became a hugely popular (and fashionable) way to mask the inferior alcohol produced during Prohibition.

Sidecars and Grasshoppers. Tom Collins and Mint Julep. Orange Blossoms and Singapore Slings. The names were almost as exotic as the drinks themselves. Ernest Hemingway introduced the Cuban Daiqari to a wider audience. Another of his favourite’s was the Mojito, enjoying a resurgence in popularity today (and one of my own favourites!)

But of all the drinks popular in the Roaring Twenties, the most fashionable was undoubtedly champagne, whether drunk on its own or as part of a cocktail.

To celebrate with me, give this one a try. It’s a Classic Champagne Cocktail:

1 Sugar Cube
Angostura Bitters
Chilled champagne
Twist of lemon rind

Place the sugar cube in the bottom of a champagne coupe and add a dash of angostura bitters. Then fill with champagne, stir, and garnish with the twist of lemon rind (or a cocktail cherry). Voila!

